Renmin University of China

Why us
Renmin University of China (RUC) is one of the key research-oriented universities in China, focusing on arts and humanities as well as embracing disciplines of natural sciences. It can be traced back to Shanbei Public School founded in 1937 and later the North China United University, Northern University and North China University. On October 3rd 1950, the North China University was renamed as Renmin University of China which was the first modern university founded by People’s Republic of China.
The University now comprises 22 schools of different disciplines, which offers 63 undergraduate programs, 158 master programs, and 104 doctoral degree programs. The RUC is also home to a wide range of research centers and 15 transitional centers for post-doctoral fellows.
In the latest appraisal of key disciplines of national institutions of higher education organized by the Ministry of Education, seven disciplines of the RUC rank top among all national institutions of higher education in the Humanities and Social Sciences, and the total number ranks the third among all national institutions of higher education. These disciplines are: Theoretical Economics; Applied Economics; Law; Sociology; Journalism and Communication; Political Science; Marxism Theory.
Renmin University of China attaches great importance to international exchanges and cooperation. The University maintains academic links with more than 160 institutions and universities in more than 40 countries. And the RUC is one of the key educational institutions that have accepted international students since 1951. The University teaches over 20,000 students every year, including nearly 1,600 international students from 80 countries.